Speed-run your diagram in 5 minute using chatGPT

Rapepong Pitejaroonpong
2 min readJun 13, 2023

--

When you start new project with your coworker, it is very nice to have UML diagram to represent what we have agree as a common understanding

But diagram can be done by only one person and it is time consuming if you are not pro enough it require at least 2–3 hours per one diagram according to my experience and you need to know some mermaid.js syntax to make it from code which also long.

So let me introduce my approach to solve this problems in low cost way, First I normally make my system document in google doc because it have auto table of content, able to store many information, assigning task and there are decent Speech to text feature.

I use STT feature to record my summarization when I am done brain storm with my team and then we will use this prompt. Upload to chatGPT website. And then type “ turn this prompt into a mermaid.js as type of your desired diagram “text that you recorded” ”

then copy the code and paste it in the https://mermaid.live/ to generate the diagram, and then export it in PNG, and use it as you like.

And there you have it easy low cost pipeline for lazy programer like us. Hope it helps your project initial process.

Reference of link i used

--

--